top of page
Stats_Regionally Accredited

Smarter by 1 Degree ONLY Partners with Regionally Accredited Universities.


Getting a regionally accredited degree is important for several reasons:

  • Quality assurance: Regional accreditation ensures that the college or university meets high academic standards and has been rigorously evaluated by an independent accrediting agency. This means that the degree you earn is recognized as a quality education by employers, other institutions, and the general public.


  • Transferability: Credits earned at a regionally accredited institution are more likely to transfer to other regionally accredited institutions, which can be important if you plan to transfer to another college or university or pursue a higher degree in the future.


  • Eligibility for financial aid: Regionally accredited institutions are eligible to participate in federal financial aid programs, which can provide significant financial assistance to students who need it.


  • Career opportunities: Many employers require or prefer candidates with degrees from regionally accredited institutions, especially for positions that require specialized knowledge or skills. In some cases, having a regionally accredited degree may be a prerequisite for licensing or certification in certain fields.


Overall, getting a regionally accredited degree can increase your chances of success in the job market and provide a solid foundation for lifelong learning and career advancement.

What Does Regional Accreditation Mean?

Regionally accredited refers to a type of accreditation that is granted to colleges and universities by one of seven regional accrediting bodies in the United States. These regional accrediting bodies are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).


Regional accreditation is considered the most prestigious and rigorous form of accreditation, and is typically required for a school to be eligible for federal financial aid. Accreditation ensures that a college or university meets certain standards of academic excellence and quality, and that it is operating in a financially stable and responsible manner.


To receive regional accreditation, a college or university must undergo a rigorous evaluation process that includes a self-study report, site visit by an accreditation team, and review by an accreditation commission. This process typically takes several years to complete and involves a thorough assessment of the institution's academic programs, faculty, facilities, student services, and other key aspects of the school's operations.


The acceptable regional accrediting bodies are:

  • Middle States  Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA)/Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

  • The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) (formerly Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges or NASC)

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) (formerly North Central Association of Colleges and Schools or NCA)

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) (formerly New England Association of Schools and Colleges or NEASC-CIHE)

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools/Commission on Colleges (SACS-COC)

  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges/Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC)

  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges/Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

bottom of page